Acid Reflux

What are the 4 types or stages of acid reflux?

Acid reflux is a condition in which stomach acid goes up into the esophagus, sometimes all the way into the throat(a condition called silent reflux).

If acid reflux is experienced on a daily basis or multiple times a week then the esophagus can, over time, get more and more irritated and damaged.

There are basically 4 stages a person with acid reflux should be familiar with:

The 1st type of acid reflux is what most people have.

There is a mild inflammation in the lower part of the esophagus with occasional heartburn, regurgitation of food or chest pain.

The 2nd stage or type of acid reflux is the same as stage 1 but is more frequent. Antacid medications are often prescribed to alleviate the symptoms.

The 3rd stage or type of acid reflux is the severe kind in which your esophagus has some level of erosion already.

Heartburn is now almost constant despite taking medications on a daily basis.

Coughing and sore throat can also be common at this stage. If you don’t treat this stage properly then you’re at risk of further complications.

The 4th and final stage is where pre-cancerous lesions have already developed or you may develop esophageal cancer. This stage is also known as Barrett’s esophagus.

Need guidance on how to control and manage your acid reflux? Check out my Heartburn No More program

Jeff Martin is an unconventional blogger and an unorthodox medical researcher. He has battled with acid reflux for years. He has also created the Heartburn No More program.  

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply